Utility pole crash

Yesterday morning I was up early to make pizza for the departmental holiday party. We got a wet, slushy rain/snow mix overnight and I wanted to give myself plenty of extra time for driving to campus. I had been cooking for about half an hour when we heard a plow truck going by outside, then suddenly a big crunch. We looked out to see that the plow truck had struck the utility pole right next to our driveway and the pole had just snapped and come down. The truck was stuck, tangled up in downed wires, and blocking our driveway and the road. Fortunately, it didn’t look like the driver was hurt.

Pretty soon we had a fire truck, ambulance, and several town utility trucks out front. They got the plow truck disentangled, then to work clearing the old pole out of the way and installing a new one. The whole process took about four hours and we were blocked in until it was over. Happily, we only lost power for about ten minutes during that time. I was able to finish my cooking, but I couldn’t get out of the driveway in time to make it to the party. I was sad to miss it, but at least I didn’t have to try to drive to campus on slushy roads.

I give a lot of credit to the town utility crew. They were on the job right away, they got it done, and they were good about communicating with us as it was happening.

Leave a Reply

