Adult

I’ve been doing so many adult things lately. I finished writing another chapter. That’s six down, seven to go, and I’m feeling pretty good about this one.

I also decided to enroll in the TSA pre-check system. Hopefully this will make traveling (especially traveling as a dark-haired, darkish-skinned man with an accent) a little easier.

Yesterday I presented at a small regional world history conference. That was a very nice experience. I got to see several of my colleagues from work and some old students as well. I was talking about the Baltic/Mediterranean amber routes and how various peoples at various times monopolized the amber trade to leverage their way into larger networks of trade. I was presenting with a couple of other people who were talking about the silk road, which made for an interesting set of presentations.

And I just had my birthday. Happy day to me! I made a cake, which came out pretty well, but something went wrong with the frosting and I think it made both E and me a little bit sick. Oh well. That just means I have to make another cake, right?

Leave a Reply

