Last swim

I had my last swim in the pond today. The nights are getting cold and our pond is so shallow it cools down very fast in the fall. We’ve also been in a drought all summer long, which means the usually fairly mucky water is getting extremely mucky, made worse by the late-summer algae bloom. It’ll be the pool for me from now until next summer.

Classes start again next Wednesday, which is also the day we’re expecting the dregs of hurricane Hermine to blow through. That will be an interesting day.

In just a few days my first sabbatical will be over. It was a wonderful, productive experience and I’m going to miss the freedom and flexibility. I am excited to get back to teaching, which is my real love, but I’ll miss the days of just sitting in my office and writing all day long.

Leave a Reply

