Revision

This has been the week of revision. On Monday, I got the latest round of editorial comments on my short story that will be published this fall. I spent the whole day and a good part of Tuesday rewriting and got the revised version sent back. Then on Wednesday, I got peer review comments on the draft chapters of my scholarly book and now I have to rethink some sections of what I’ve already written and what I had planned.

Editing and revising are important. That’s how things get better, and I know this. Also, on the whole, the comments on both my fiction and my scholarship were very positive. Really, I couldn’t realistically have hoped for better. But, still, the things I write are my special little babies and criticism is always just a bit shredding at first. I’ll be fine, I just wasn’t prepared to have so much land in my lap within a few days.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.