Writing process

Fall is here and I met my self-imposed deadline for finishing my barbarians outline. Yay! Now to actually write the thing.

I have myself set up in my office upstairs with a desk and a big table. I put my laptop on the desk and write on that. The table behind me holds all the books I’m using for my current chapter. In my swiveling desk chair I can easily swing back and forth between them. It’s a good set-up.

On a good day I’m up by eight and done with breakfast and the morning’s business (e-mail, Facebook, etc.) by nine. I take myself upstairs and get to work. At twelve I come down to have lunch and an hour’s break. At one I go back up and work until four if I need to cook or five if we have leftovers. It works well and I can get six or seven hours of work done.

Of course, some days I need to get other things done. I’m still figuring out how to fit things like grocery shopping, lawn-mowing, etc. into the schedule. Once I’m back to swimming in the pool I will have to work around that, too. It seems workable, though, and I’m sure I’ll get into the rhythm with a little practice.

Leave a Reply

