End of August

Highlights of the last couple of weeks:

I had a nice relaxing trip up to Maine. I helped my folks clean up the waterfront for the end of the season and I picked two big containers of blackberries. Most of the blackberries went into a delicious pie, but I have some put away in the freezer for later.

We’ve been having a problem with our water heater so we called in a plumber. It turns out we had very high water pressure coming into the house (over 80 psi when around 60 is normal). That meant we needed a pressure-reducing valve installed, which took most of an afternoon, but everything is better now.

My cucumbers have rather underperformed this year, but the tomatoes have more than made up for it. I’ve been out every other day picking a big bowl full of little yellow pear tomatoes and fuzzy orange peach tomatoes. I’ve pulled all of my potatoes now. We got a wonderful crop of those.

I’ve almost finished my outline for my barbarians book. I’m hoping to be done by the end of August. Not sure I can make that deadline, but I’m still pulling for it.

Leave a Reply

