October dinner: Plenty, Yotam Ottolenghi

My officemate gave me a new cookbook for my birthday, Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi, a book of vegetarian recipes with international inspiration. We dipped into our new book for this month’s dinner.

A flowery table  for our vegetable dinner

A flowery table for our vegetable dinner

For the main course, I made stuffed zucchini. The zucchini are split lengthwise and stuffed with a filling of rice and pine nuts. To go along with the main course I made cucumber salad with smashed garlic and ginger. Both were very good and surprisingly satisfying. I’ve never been a great fan of vegetarian food, but this cookbook might change my mind.

Stuffed zucchini and cucumber salad

Stuffed zucchini and cucumber salad

For dessert I made pear crostini. I can honestly say that this is the strangest dessert I’ve ever made, but it was also very good. The base is toasted slices of sourdough bread topped with a paste of garlic and pine nuts. Grilled slices of pear go on top of that, followed by cheese, then the whole thing goes back into the oven. The thick slices of bread topped by thick slices of pear turned out to be rather awkward to eat, but the combination of salty and sweet was unexpectedly delicious.

Pear crostini

Pear crostini

Leave a Reply

