Insomnia

E and I had a bad run of insomnia recently. For a while we were alternating: one night I couldn’t sleep, then the next night she couldn’t, then back to me, and so on. We’ve both slept well for a few nights now, so hopefully the thing is over with. We can’t figure out what it was that was keeping us up, either.

Construction on the new house down the road is going on. The foundation has been poured and they’re starting to build the first floor. A couple of days ago, when I was out for my pre-lunch swim, I met the lady of the couple who are building the house, who was out on the pond in a canoe. We chatted a little bit and she seems pleasant.

Yesterday I spent a delightful day in the ktichen. I made korvapuusteja (Finnish cinnamon rolls) and started a batch of metheglin (mead flavored with herbs). The honey came from a local farm and I used sweet fern and lemon balm from our back yard for flavor.

We just did a big rearrangement of the house, shifting some furniture and some spaces around. The big goal was the make E’s office work better for her now that she’s in business, but we also changed some other parts of the house as well. One nice thing is that I now how a little space to work in E’s office, too, so that we can keep each other company.

Leave a Reply

