July dinner: The Lodge Cast Iron Cookbook, Pam Hoenig, and Chocolate Ecstasy, Christine France

Two cookbooks this month, one for the appetizer and main course and another one for the dessert. Since the weather is agreeable for cooking outdoors, I thought this would be a good month for some cast iron cooking on the sacrificial altar out back. The cast iron cookbook does have dessert recipes, but we don’t have that many cast iron pans, so this also seemed like a good time to dip into Chocolate Ecstasy for a dessert recipe.

We had a few hiccups in the preparations. E. had a night of bad insomnia, which made for a difficult day. I got up in the morning not long after she finally got to sleep. I needed to go grocery shopping for supplies, but our local grocery store is a Market Basket, whose workers are on strike, so I had to go to a different store. I was able to get the things I needed, but it took me a lot longer than usual, so I got started on cooking a few hours later than I had hoped to. In the end, preparing tonight’s dinner took all day. I wouldn’t want that to happen all the time, but it wasn’t a bad way to spend a lazy summer day.

A fittingly summery table

A fittingly summery table

For a starter I made clam, corn, and sausage chowder. I’ve had clam chowder and corn chowder before, but not together, and I’ve never had chowder with sausage in it. The corn was fresh and local, roasted on the grill before I cut the kernels off to put in the chowder, which gave it a nice smoky flavor.

Chowdah

Chowdah

Our main course was chicken with olives and artichokes. This was rather similar to the paellas I’ve made before. The olives overwhelmed the other flavors in the dish, but otherwise it was good.

Chicken from our local farm

Chicken from our local farm

Dessert was black and white chocolate mousse. I made the two mousses early and let them chill in the refrigerator. They were a great success, really smooth and rich.

Half-and-half, black and white chocolate mousse

Half-and-half, black and white chocolate mousse

One Response to “July dinner: The Lodge Cast Iron Cookbook, Pam Hoenig, and Chocolate Ecstasy, Christine France”

  1. Lii Says:

    Sounds sooooo delicious! :d

Leave a Reply

