September dinner: light green and dark green

The past month has been very busy with Things that Need to get Done, so I haven’t posted much. I’ll be back soon to catch up with the highlights, but here is September’s special dinner.

These month colors come from associations that I made in my mind when I was very young, so I can’t explain any more where some of them came from. I have no idea why I decided that 1) different shades of the same color should count as separate colors and 2) September should be the one month with such a pair of colors. In any case, I was left with a bit of a challenge this month. In previous months, when one color has been problematic I’ve been able to fall back on the other, but this month I really only have one color to work with: green, in all its various shades. Happily, there are lots of green foods (and even foods that are supposed to be green, not just foods that end up that way after too long at the back of the refrigerator). Still, quite a few things went wrong this month.

E. did her usual excellent job with the table setting.

Green green green.  Who would have thought there would be so much green in our house?  I mean, apart from everybody who knows me.

Green green green. Who would have thought there would be so much green in our house? I mean, apart from everybody who knows me.

We started with a green salad. An easy enough thing, you would think, but that went a little sideways. When I started preparing the salad, I realized that we didn’t have some of the vegetables that I was certain I had gotten for it. So we ended up with a “salad” of lettuce and green pepper. It ate just fine, but it wasn’t what I had planned! E. aptly dubbed it a “sad-lad.”

Sad little salad

Sad little salad

The main course was cabbage rolls. Those turned out pretty well. The rolls were stuffed with ground turkey, scallions, zucchini, rice, and bread crumbs, flavored with ginger, salt, and pepper. I topped them with a sauce made with fresh parsley and mint. The mint that didn’t go into the sauce went into mojitos for our drink.

Cabbage rolls and sauce.  These, at least, were good

Cabbage rolls and sauce. These, at least, were good.

For dessert I made key lime cheesecake. I manage key lime pie pretty well, but this cheesecake was not so successful. The recipe warned not to overmix the ingredients, but I think I was a little too cautious since the filling turned out a bit lumpy. The balance of lime to sugar was a little off, too, and the cake came out a bit too sour. Oh well. We ate it anyway.

It looks more yellow than green here.  It was that kind of month.

It looks more yellow than green. It was that kind of month.

Leave a Reply

