Hippo birdy to me

I had a very pleasant birthday. Thank you for all the good wishes.

We’ve been having a run of warm weather, and my birthday was no exception. It was a sunny, cheerful day that made us want to open all the windows and go stretch our legs on the lawn. I started the day by going to the pool to swim. I’ve been heading to the pool for a couple of weeks now since the nights have turned cold and that brings the pond’s temperature down rather fast. I had a very nice swim, although there was a group of little kids who came in to splash around in the shallow end for a while, too.

E. and I took the afternoon to play World of Warcraft together, something we haven’t had the time to do very much lately. In the evening, we went out to have dinner and see a movie. We picked a movie called The Mortal Instruments, something we’d seen previews for back in the summer and that looked interesting. It’s late in the movie’s run, so the two of us were the only people in the theatre, which was good, because the movie turned out to be a real turkey. We got to laugh at it and make snarky remarks to each other without worrying about bothering anyone else.

Back at home we played a little more before heading to bed. It was a lovely, relaxing day to spend together with E. I haven’t gotten many of those lately, so I appreciate them when they come.

My first couple weeks of classes have gone well. I’m getting a feel for my classes’ personalities and they’re mostly good. My first Homer class is a little hesitant to talk, but we still manage to have a conversation. The rest of my classes are very well engaged and get into the discussion.

One Response to “Hippo birdy to me”

  1. Lii Says:

    Yup, saw The Mortal Instruments as well, and… oh dear. It’s not usually hard for me to find bits and pieces that I like, even in a crappy movie. With this one, I really had to work for it :). Extra unhappy over Jonathan Rhys Meyers’ scruffy looks and overacting :p. Thank goodness for Godfrey Gao as Magnus Bane, though, even with the minuscule screen time.

Leave a Reply

