Back to work

I had my first classes on Thursday, four in a row.  It makes for a long day, but it does save me from having to make the commute to campus more than twice a week.  I find that it takes two or three days for a new class’s personality to really come through, but so far I’m hopeful about all of my classes.  This semester, for the first time ever, I’m not teaching any World History classes.  That means that all the students in all my classes are there because they chose to be, not because they’re filling a requirement.  That in itself seems to make a huge difference.

The unfortunate thing this semester is that I’m stuck all day long in one room with big awkward tables that are hard to move around.  Since I like to have my classes arrange themselves and sit in a circle, so they can look at and talk to each other, that makes things difficult.  We will deal with it, however.

Leave a Reply

