August dinner: yellow and orange

Yellow and orange are not bad colors to end the summer on. I was able to get a lot of produce from our local farms into this month’s dinner, which is always nice.

E.'s summery table setting

E.’s summery table setting

On the subject of produce from local farms, this pair of carrots came from one of those farms. Aw, they’re in love.

And they called it carrot lo-o-o-ove...

And they called it carrot lo-o-o-ove…

For an appetizer we had a simple tomato salad. I chopped some fresh local tomatoes and drizzled them with a little olive oil and vinegar.

Tomato salad, made with heirloom yellow tomatoes from a local farm

Tomato salad, made with heirloom yellow tomatoes from a local farm

The main course was an orange ginger chicken stir fry with carrots, summer squash, and yellow pepper. I served this with turmeric-spiced rice.

Chicken and summer vegetable stir fry

Chicken and summer vegetable stir fry

For dessert I made a Finnish-style pancake and a fruit sauce of oranges and local peaches.

Pancake with fruit sauce

Pancake with fruit sauce

Another yummy monthly dinner. One of the pleasures of this project is that it gets me thinking creatively about my cooking and trying things I wouldn’t have thought to try otherwise. Not everything always comes out well, but I make enough good discoveries that I think I’m expanding my repertoire.

Leave a Reply

