July dinner: red and yellow

With this month’s colors being red and yellow, I decided to try something a little different and give our monthly dinner a Spanish theme. It worked out terrifically well. I think this was one of our most successful special dinners to date.

E.'s red and yellow table setting, borrowing some of her business fabric

E.’s red and yellow table setting

For an appetizer we had gazpacho, made with tomatoes and garlic from our local farm.

A little cool gazpacho to start with on a warm day

A little cool gazpacho to start with on a warm day

The main coruse was a paella. I decided to give it an extra twist and cook it on a charcoal fire out back. I used sausage, shrimp, summer squash, and red and yellow peppers and cooked the whole thing in the old cast iron spider.

Cooking paella on the grill

Cooking paella on the grill

I haven’t made paella in a very long time, so I was a little nervous about how it would come out, but it turned out beautifully. The rice cooked perfectly and the flavors came together in a delicious mix.

The finished dish

The finished dish

Served up for dinner

Served up for dinner

For dessert I made flan. If I was nervous about the paella, I was almost terrified when it came to the flan. I have never made anything like it before. I at least grasp the basic principles involved in cooking rice, meat, and vegetables together in a pot, but caramel and egg custard are entirely foreign concepts to me. Still, by assiduously following the recipe in Joy of Cooking I turned out a pretty respectable flan.

Flan, ready to serve

Flan, ready to serve

A portion for dessert

A portion for dessert

I really could not have been happier with how everything turned out.

3 Responses to “July dinner: red and yellow”

  1. Lii Says:

    Great work! Looks sooooo appetizing! :d

  2. ekoti Says:

    It WAS sooooo good! 🙂

  3. heatherhouse Says:

    I’m really happy with how everything came out.

Leave a Reply

