Special dinners 2013 – colors

Last year’s special dinners on the Lord of the Rings theme were very successful. This year, we’re taking something very different for a theme: colors.

When I was young, there were a lot of things that I associated in my mind with colors, especially with things that came in groups or series: days of the week, months of the year, letters and numbers, the strings on my violin, etc. I guess I was a little bit synaesthetic then. Many of those associations have faded as I have gotten older, but I still enjoy sets of things in different colors and I still remember some of my old color sets.

This year, I am making my special monthly dinners based on the pairs of colors that I connected with the months of the year. Some of these pairs obviously come from holidays (red and white in February, orange and black in October), and others seem pretty natural for the time of year (blue and white in January, yellow and green in March); some of the others, I’m not sure where they came from.

January: blue and white
February: red and white
March: yellow and green
April: purple and yellow
May: red and purple
June: yellow and blue
July: red and yellow
August: yellow and orange
September: light green and dark green
October: orange and black
November: silver and gray
December: red and green

I’m not entirely sure how I’ll do all of these colors. Some are going to be really challenging, especially November. For some months, the colors will probably be more of a theme, other months I’ll be able to do a full meal in the colors. It’s going to be fun figuring it all out.

Look for January’s post soon.

One Response to “Special dinners 2013 – colors”

  1. Lii Says:

    I’m most curious about June, for some reason :). Ah, September looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

