The start of the summer

My summer has begun. Classes are over, meetings are done, graduation is past. I am on vacation. E., I’m sad to say, has a few weeks still to go. This means I’m spending a lot of time at home alone.

I’m trying to get some things done in my solitary days. I have a translation project that I’m working on for publication (Horace’s Satire 1.5, about a journey from Rome to Brindisium, for a volume on travelers’ tales as historical sources) and I’m starting to plan my courses for the fall.

There are also things to do around the house. We got our septic tank pumped for the first time last week. That went smoothly and everything looks good. Earlier we marked some small trees at the edge of our back yard to cut down and I’ve been working on taking them down and chopping them for firewood.

Since Rock Pond got too cold to swim in at the end of last fall I’ve been swimming at the YMCA in Ipswich. Now that the weather is warming up, I’ve started swimming in the pond again. The normal routine that I do in the pool is just about the same distance as swimming down to the far end of the pond and back, so it’s been a pretty easy transition. Although I miss the clarity of the pool water, the convenient shower facilities, and the ability to pause pretty much any time I need to, there’s still nothing to beat swimming in a lake under the open sky.

Leave a Reply

