Cooking rough

We’ve had a small problem with the stove: the vent hood is coming detached from the cabinets and threatening to fall down. It ought to be a pretty simple matter to screw it back into place, but because of the way the hood is designed we just can’t get tools into the right place. We spent an hour on Sunday morning trying to fix it ourselves before giving up. While we wait for a professional to come take a look at it, we’ve turned off power to the stove, so I’ve been cooking in the fireplace.

I’m using our old spider (cast-iron frying pan), which sits very nicely on the andirons. I made a small fire to light some charcoal, then set the spider over it and cooked. First I made pyttipannu, a sort of hash with sausages and potato. The next day I made pizza, using Kris’s technique for grilled pizza. I put a little olive oil in the bottom of the pan, rolled out the dough very thin, and laid the dough in the pan to cook on one side. When the dough started to bubble, I turned it over and layered on some sauce, cheese, and toppings. I used a pot lid to contain the heat and let it cook. This worked very well and in a little over an hour I produced six small pizzas that we can heat up in the still-functioning microwave when we want them.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Cooking rough”

  1. Lii Says:

    Wow! It’s like being on a camp, only more comfortable! 😉

  2. E Says:

    It’s like magic – I come home from work, and there’s a fire in the fireplace and fresh, fire-cooked food…!

  3. KHJ Says:

    I like it! bet the pizzas taste good.

Leave a Reply

