A long swim

In the summer months, I often take a swim in the lake either before lunch or in the mid afternoon. Rock Pond is long and narrow and early in the summer I was swimming kind of diagonally across the width. Lately I’ve been swimming along the length. I have some landmarks that I track my progress by– a funny little squirt of a point on the north shore, a shoulder of land and some houses close to the water on the south. I usually swim about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way from where I get in to the farther end of the lake. Yesterday I went swimming before lunch after building up a sweat mowing the lawn and trimming some overgrowth. I meant to just swim my usual course, but when I got where I usually turn back I was still feeling energetic, so kept on going and for the first time swam all the way to the far end of the lake and back. That felt like a very good accomplishment.  Checking a map, it looks like I swam a little less than a mile altogether.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

