Catching up

I’ve been very busy in the past few weeks, so here’s a brief summary of what I’ve been up to:

Classes ended. I was pretty happy with my classes this spring. My Greece and Rome class was one of the best groups I’ve ever had– always ready to tackle whatever I threw at them with good spirits and thoughtful reasoning. My grad class was wonderful, but I’ve come to expect no less of my grad students. One of my World History classes was terrific; the other one was tough because of serious attendance problems, but the people who did show up were good to work with.

Kris’s graduation. We went down to Virginia to attend Kris’s doctoral graduation. It was great to get to visit with her and Daniel (and their respective cats, who make my nose itch but are no less wonderful for it). We enjoyed a visit to the Book Fair and a brewery tour at Starr Hill Brewery. It kept threatening to rain on the day of the ceremonies, but mostly held off and we got to enjoy both the general graduation exercises and the specific ceremony for English on the grand lawn surrounded by Mr. Jefferson’s architectural sampler.

Almost-heat wave. We had a couple of days of mid-90s F heat here in Georgetown (around 35 C). We sweltered through it before it cooled down to a more reasonable temperature. I had my first swim of the year in Rock Pond.

Quick trip to Maine. We took a quick jaunt up to Maine to visit with Theo and help my folks put the float and sailboat out into the lake.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Catching up”

  1. KHJ Says:

    You always have wonderful photographs behind the blog title (don’t know what you call that space–masthead?). The latest is perhaps one of the best.

Leave a Reply

