Mouthful of a day

We had dentist appointments today. E. got small cavity filled and I had some old fillings replaced. The dentist was very efficient in his work and we were both in and out in 45 minutes. We then spent the rest of the afternoon talking funny because our mouths were numb. Just try saying “Let’s get some soup and salad and sit down of the sofa to watch some Stargate” when you can’t feel your tongue. Simple pleasures for simple minds…

In the evening I made a pumpkin pie from scratch. I find it very satisfying cooking from scratch, even if it is more work. This is my first pie of the season, but I’m sure there will be more pumpkin, apple, and cranberry pies to follow.

A couple of days ago I was walking around outside and for the first time this season it smelled like fall. I don’t know quite what it is that makes that sweet, crisp fall scent but I love it. I think the fall is my favorite season, even if it does bring unpleasant weather and a return to work with it. I love the smell of the air, the fresh apples and pumpkins, the tingle of the cooler weather, and the satisfied feeling of the world getting ready to go to sleep for the winter.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Mouthful of a day”

  1. pj Says:

    Erik-I always think a novocaine leaves my tongue feeling like a banana stuffed into my mouth.

  2. KHJ Says:

    Mmmmmm, pumpkin pie. The one time I made a pumpkin pie from the pumpkin, not from a can of One Pie, it turned out really, really, really delicious. Nevertheless, I decided it wasn’t quite delicious enough to justify that amount of work for dessert, and I haven’t made a pie out of a pumpkin since.

Leave a Reply

