New courses

This morning I’m presenting five new course proposals before the history department curriculum committee. If they approve the courses, they’ll be sent on to a college-wide committee for further approval. If they approve as well, I’ll be able to start teaching these classes next spring. The courses I’m proposing are:

  • History of Ancient Greece
  • History of Rome (these two split up the Greece and Rome class that I’m teaching now into two separate, semester-long courses)
  • Roman Law
  • Barbarians in the Greek and Roman World
  • History of Northern Europe to 1066

I’ve gotten a lot of encouraging comments from my fellow history faculty so I hope that all will go well today and with the college-wide committee later. I’ve been pretty free to design the courses I’ve been teaching so far, but I’m looking forward to teaching courses that are completely of my own creation.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

